The BlueHat Prize finalists, in their own words

In a little less than 24 hours, we will award $200,000 to Jared DeMott, Ivan Fratric, or Vasilis Pappas as we name the inaugural winner of the BlueHat Prize – and we’ll award more than $50,000 for the two runners-up. As excitement builds towards that announcement, I was fortunate enough to sit down with each finalist and get to know them a little bit better. Each of these researchers coincidentally took on the problem of mitigating ROP exploits, but each had different reasons for participating in the contest and each proposed different solutions to the same problem.

Note: Finalists presented in alphabetical order.

Jared DeMott

Ivan Fratric

Vasilis Pappas

We look forward to seeing you Thursday night at our Researcher Appreciation Event.  If you haven’t received your token yet (or just want to say hello and chat), please stop by our booth in the Black Hat Sponsor Hall. 

See you there!

Mike Reavey
Sr. Director, Microsoft Security Response Center